Nuclear weapons, boon or curse ?

Greetings writers !

I've come up with an essay pertaining to the topic : Since the invention of nuclear weapons we have had a long period of GLOBAL peace and stability. Are nuclear weapons global peacemakers or killing devices?

I'd really appreciate any reviews on my essay :D

INVENTION OF NUCLEAR WEAPONS

Nuclear weapons are considered to be the most pernicious form of weaponry and there is much controversy about the aftermath of its invention. The first nuclear weapon, which was the nuclear bomb, was contrived by the United States of America in 1945. Not three weeks later, the world witnessed a catastrophic and a gruesome incident- The Hiroshima and Nagasaki shelling. Americans dropped two nuclear bombs on these places, expeditiously but rather in a rather sacrilegious, putting an end to the Pacific War. Ever since then, a myriad of countries have started concocting their own nuclear weapons. Irrefutably, the question arises, what effects nuclear weapons have on global peace and stability.

A multitude of countries, in an attempt to protect their various rights and to fortify their defence units, have begun to manufacture nuclear weapons. There are five states classified as "Nuclear Superpowers" under Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty and an approximate other ten which have successfully detonated nuclear weapons in past. With advancement in technology and science, there is advancement in military weapons as well. Many countries, fearful of being dominated by other nuclear states, are piqued to manufacture their own nuclear weapons. Hence, we arrive at an incontrovertible conclusion that militarization with respect to nuclear weapons is at an augment.

In my opinion, deploying nuclear artilleries and manufacturing such weapons of mass destruction, is deleterious to world peace and stability. It exacerbates the tensions between nations with historically unsatisfactory relations and strains ties between conciliatory nations. Moreover, countries have a propensity to use nuclear weapons as means of attack since they do cataclysmic destruction and its after-effects prevail on in generations to come. Hence, it has become highly probable that an inconsequential activity might trigger a brutal nuclear war, precipitating devastatingly unreasonable consequences. Nuclear weapons thus, in no way set parameters for achieving global peace.

Before concluding, I'd like to elucidate that nuclear technology can be used for meritorious work as well such the generation of electricity. It is of utmost importance to prohibit manufacturing of nuclear weapons as they drive us away from the ultimate goal of achieving global peace. United Nations must play a pro-active role in demilitarizing nuclear states and establishing more Nuclear-Free Territory Zones, adding to the contemporary five, and to foster peaceful settlement of disputes. All in all, we need to demean the chances of another war, which would claim a gargantuan number of lives and cause much more destruction than previous wars.