IELTS TASK 2 Negative Effects of tourism activities

Some people say that tourism has many negative effect on the countries that people travel. How true Is this statement ? what can tourist do to reduce the harmful effect of tourism on local culture and environment ?

The majority of citizens assumed that there are some unsavory impacts of tourism for destination countries. I personally believe toward this statement since a number of cultures became disappeared and replaceable by modern styles carried by the tourists. On the other hand, there are several solutions to minimize its detrimental effects.

These days, most of travelers visiting a site bring the dire effects for local people and traditions. A significant impact occurs on traditional value altered by western lifestyle. For example, the foreigners introduce elements that are not suitable with local cultures. Another serious consequence is the local community adopts poor behaviors such as consuming of the drugs and alcohol, increasing of prostitution's level on local area. In addition, there is also the new trend in which the cultures utilized for commercial commodities. For instance, local people constantly think about profit. I greatly agree tourism lead the negative impact for local community and environment.

In term of solutions, the government should be largely responsible. Firstly, the tourism ministry must create strict regulations for holiday makers spending holidays in the country like to impose a fine for travelers making violations. Secondly, Authorities have to maintain original cultures on each tourist area. They must encourage local residents to preserve traditional values without influenced of foreign customs.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that a number of inhabitants argue regarding to the drawbacks of tourism for their regions. However, I extremely believe that the original cultures have been eroded by foreign life styles and values. Afterwards, there are some possible solutions that can be done by the government to tackle the problem so the benefits of tourism are still enjoyed.