IELTS task 2 - Modern technology, make human more reliance on them

Over-reliance on modern technology means that people are failing to learn, or are forgetting, many basic skills.

To what extent is this true? Are people becoming so reliant on modern technology that they are to longer able to do some things without it?

The inventions of modern technologies are more likely make inhabitants neglect their basic skills. Although this extent is true in some cases, I would argue that people still have a great deal of willingness to learn and have strong fundamental proficiency. This essay also discusses the possibility of people reliance on technology.

Advancement of technology tends to make people reliance on them. They feel, without technology their life will uncomfortable. For instance, the invention of Calculator in 1642 by Blaise Pascal makes people lazy to do numeric calculation anymore. Almost all of people in the world use this invention in their daily life. From children to complete their task until a businessman and professor use the calculator. As a result, they forget using algorithm and simple equation like multiply and deduction. This is because Calculator indulges them with automation calculation. As seen, these modern technologies make people hesitant to do manual calculation and maybe failing to learn.

As a matter of fact, there are some counter-arguments against prior statement. Apparently, every school has a basic syllabus about calculus. They encourage their students to do complicated manual calculation. Algebra, sigma, and relativity theory are something that calculator cannot undergo without human intervention. That experience is strengthening the argument that human have more complicated skills of calculation rather than machine. In addition, the machine only can work if they obtain a command from their master which is human. In this circumstance, computer only help human to do remnant calculation, but the whole idea is from human brain. To exemplify, the banker use Excels to help them doing detail calculation as their responsibility. This is because computer can analyze longer and accurate number as human requested.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that even though modern technology simplify human task, human does not has no a tendency to rely on that matter. Where possible, utilize that technology with properly in order to gain more benefits.