Ielts essay: living and studying overseas

Topic: The idea of going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

It is every student's desire to study at a good university and experience a new environment. While some students study and live overseas to achieve this, some prefer to study home because of the difficulties of living and studying overseas. In my opinion, one who studies overseas will gain many skills throughout this experience for several reasons.

First, studying at an overseas university gives individuals the opportunity to improve social skills by interacting and communicating with students from different origins and cultures. Compared to the peers studying in the home country, it will be more likely for the one who is living overseas to be successful in adapting himself/herself into new environments and situations in life.

Second, living and studying overseas is an irreplaceable experience when it comes to learn standing on your own feet. One who is living overseas will of course struggle with loneliness, living away from family and friends but those difficulties will turn into valuable experiences in the following steps of life. Moreover, the one will learn living without depending on anyone else.

Also, employers are mostly looking for people who have international and language skills. Becoming successful in this study will give the student an edge in job market. Therefore, one who has studied and lived overseas will become more eligible for the job than his/her peers.

In conclusion, there are many difficulties a student might face when studying and living overseas. However, living and studying overseas gives the individual a new perspective on the subject that is studied or in general life.

255 words.

I tried to finish this essay in 40 minutes. so it might be lacking strong evidence.

I am not sure if i can write 'him/her' or 'himself/herself in an essay. I did not know how to express it when I start a sentence with the subject 'one'.