IELTS 2: Living in high apartments : Advantages and Disadvantages

Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it's advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments. Discuss advantages and disadvantages. Give your opinion.

There is an old saying that necessity is the mother of invention, similarly lack of space for living is quickly replacing big homes with sky high flats. Whether people living in apartments feel isolated and unhappy or they are at an advantage is a debateable issue. I will narrate both advantages and disadvantages to reach a reasoned conclusion.

One clear disadvantage is being off from ground, although seems trivial but can make a lot of difference. For example, a house woman may need to drop her children at school or go for shopping, but every time she will have to come at ground level before she could start her real task. Consequently, she would avoid going out as much as possible, leading to loneliness. Second, people living in apartments are somewhat away from nature, for instance, they may see beautifully bloomed rose in garden but they can not touch and smell it. Third, in case of emergency, they would find it difficult to escape from the building.

Contrarily, flats are cheaper alternatives to homes, both for living and maintenance. For example, buying flat will cost no more that £300,000 whereas cheapest home will be 3 times expansive. Hence, money saved on accommodation expanses will be available for other ventures like business. Also, these flats are purposefully built with all necessities within small area, hence cleaning and maintaining them will be easier. Lastly, living rooms above the ground will be more isolated, ideal for peaceful un-interrupted living.

Analysing the above comments, I opine that living in apartments has more advantages than disadvantages. This is more economical and calm style of living, beneficial both for individual and masses. It is therefore, highly recommended that people should adopt it sooner than later.