IELTS TASK2:learning to play a music instrument is a waste of time

Task2:Some say that learning to play a music instrument is a waste of time, agree or disagree?

The role of musicians has brought many arguments in a society. One topic of discussion is the amount of time spent on learning musical instruments. Many people claim that it is just a waste of time, I firmly oppose to this statement. In this essay we will be discussing how teaching oneself discipline and gaining self-confidence as a result of learning to play an instrument could be beneficial to an individual.

Learning an instrument is not as easy as it sounds. A person needs commitment and dedication to be successful .Thus, discipline is a key requirement to achieve good results. For instance, learning a guitar cannot be accomplished overnight, it is essential to spend at least two hours daily for your practice. This shows that you have taught to discipline yourself in the aspect of time management.

Being able to play an instrument makes you feel better about yourself and it gives you a sense of belongingness. An example is heard from stories of most talent show candidates like America's Got Talent. In real life they are struggling their way for survival and they feel unworthy of themselves. But once they are on stage playing an instrument, it is like living a dream for them. This makes them feel special about themselves and thus they have gained self-confidence.

Both aspects shown above clearly proves that learning a musical instrument brings positive results to oneself. Therefore, it is unrightful to claim that time spent on practicing an instrument is wasted. In fact, it is considered as an investment for self-improvement.