The Lack of local people visitors to museum

TASK 2.

Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people.

Why is this?

What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical site?

Historical places and museums are sites which cannot be separated from society. Yet, the number of local people is less than tourists to visit those destinations. I personally think that there is a main factor which influences this phenomenon and the authority of the historical buildings should overcome this problem by applying attractive advertising.

The main reason why historical sites are not attractive for people living around these places is since those often find the artificial equipment which is provided by museums. For example, traditional weapon and conventional dress, local people still utilize them at the moment. Therefore, they are not interested to visit museums or historical places. All in all, the number of visitors coming from surroundings is less than tourists from abroad.

However, there is an effective method which can be applied by museum authorities in order to tempt flock living around these places to visit. Those can give discount in cost entrance for local society. This is because people will think twice when the fee to enter historical sites is expensive, even near from their accommodations. Taking council of museum in Greece as an example, by 2009, they had reduced the price of entering museum roughly 50% for Greek. As a result, the number of local tourists increased significantly at a quarter in that year. Hence, reducing the price of museums' ticket will fascinate tourists, particularly local people.

To sum up, it evident that, museums are not favorite place to visit for local dwellers. Yet, I firmly argue that the official of those buildings can provide affordable price to them in order to raise the level of tourists from local. I suggest to them to apply this highly recommended program.