How did Juno Beach on D-Day effect Canada?

i need to write at least 750 words for my essay, and it hasnt quite reached it yet. it would be great if someone could help me add improvements in. its my first essay!

D-Day was on June 6, 1944 when Operation Overlord was to take place. The war began to shift in favour of the Allies when the Allies defeated the Germans in the Battle of Britain and also the Battle of the Atlantic. Since those battles, they knew that Germany was not undefeatable. Their plan was to have the Americans, Canadians, and British troops land on the coast of Normandy where they would be separated onto different beaches. The Canadians' were assigned to Juno Beach. Their mission was to form a bridgehead. This was the invasion of Nazi Europe to which the Allies hoped to defeat Nazi Germany. This invasion ended in victory. Many Canadians died on D-Day at Juno Beach. The controversial question is, were all the casualties worth the victory? D-Day on Juno Beach positively impacted Canada because the Canadian soldiers showed courage and gained respect from the world. The Canadian soldiers demonstrated their skill in combat and most importantly, they helped lead to the defeat of Nazi Germany and the liberation of Europe from tyranny.

The Canadians were the first and most successful country in achieving their mission on D-Day. They completed their task in 9 hours while their allies took the whole day. They demonstrated their skill in combat and have made Canada proud. Their courage helped the success of the Normandy Campaign. The 3rd Canadian Infantry Division and 2nd Armoured Brigade formed a bridgehead and expanded it, eventually breaking out, firing machine guns through Bernières, Courselles, and St. Aubin. This shows how resourceful the soldiers were in the heat of battle, and how they didn't break down under pressure and persevered to achieve their set goals.

The Canadians proved to the world they would die defending freedom and democracy. They showed that they had morals and believed in human rights. Although they hadn't been successful in fighting the strong, experienced German army in the past, the Canadians won the battle. "Juno Beach was arguably the most heavily-fortified of the five invasion beaches" (Canada at War). Juno Beach had the second most casualties on D-Day, right next to Omaha Beach. 340 Canadian men were wounded, while 574 Canadian men were killed on that single day. This event helped end the mass killings of Jews, gypsies, homosexuals, handicapped and mentally unstable people. Many Europeans were thankful for the Canadians because if hadn't succeeded, Hitler would have led Europe into dictatorship and suffer in tyranny.

It was an honour for the United States, Britain, and France allow Canada to participate in such a massive, critical operation. From D-Day to the end of World War II, Canadian troops fought as equals to the British and Americans and not as British colonial troops. The Allied Powers gave Canadian forces their own beachhead, Juno Beach. No previous military operation had been more carefully planned, immensely trained for, or meticulously launched than D-Day. The success of Operation Overlord led to the end of Nazi Europe. They were known as heroes, and respected around the world. In the end, all the intense training and careful planning paid off, because we won!

We should all be proud that the Canadians demonstrated great skill in combat, were the first and most successful country in achieving their mission, that they fought for the freedom and human rights of others, and that they were part of this very critical operation. In conclusion, all of these reasons helped prove that D-Day on Juno Beach positively impacted Canada because the Canadian soldiers showed courage and gained respect from the world. From researching about Juno Beach on D-Day, I learned that you should fight for what you believe in.