GRE Issue - the word thinking is tightly coupled with the word originality, which cannot be detached

Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways."

Originality means Creativity, Out of Box Thinking, bringing new ideas and inventions, thinking from a different angle which was never thought before. I completely disagree with the definition of Originality i.e." putting old ideas in new ways". How will you find new ways of putting old ideas without discovering something completely new than the existing one?

I will cite few examples to prove my opinion.

The dictionary meaning of the word Originality says the quality or state of being original, freshness of new ideas, style or design, and the power of independent thinking or constructive imagination. An invention or style which is completely new and startled many people. So the word thinking is tightly coupled with the word originality, which cannot be detached. Let us take a look on few examples which clearly demonstrates this phenomenon.

The changes we see today or our history says are continuous and never ending and because of this now we are leading a much better life than our ancestors. In the course of time many great inventors, Scientist, artists have taken a walk in this earth. These extraordinary people with their power of imagination discovered wonderful facts of nature or something new which had never exists. Since ages people were seeing apple falling from the tree, but it had never bothered anyone to find out what is making it to fall. However Sir Isaac Newton could not stop thinking to find out the root cause of an object falling into the ground and hence force of gravity taken birth and opened path for many more important discoveries in future. Similarly it was James Watson's extraordinary thinking ability had harnessed the power of steam and discovery of steam power engine taken place or discovery of Electric bulb by Thomas Alva Edison was beautiful example of originality. Behind all these inventions and discoveries there lies an extraordinary imagination. It will be injustice to say that all these inventions are nothing new but just an extension of old ideas presented in a new way. To support this let's take the example of smart phone. When Apple invented iphone for the first time it had surprised everyone in this globe by its incredible features in such a small device because of altogether new touch and feel. Is it not something original? Can we just claim that it is just an extension of Graham Bell invention of Telephone? However the same ideas when other companies like Nokia, Samsaung, HTC etc had copied and brought their own product into the market that lacked the originality.