[IELTS] Issue on Retirement Age! Agree or Disagree?

Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. What extent do you agree or disagree?[

There is a growing recognition that thanks to the improvement of the life quality, the human expectancy has went up substantially; therefore, some people believed that the government should increase the retirement age. This doing will bring many benefits to the social security; however, it also has many drawbacks on the communities. I'm convinced that the government should not raise the retirement age because of the following reasons.

To begin with, one of the vital downside of higher retirement age is that the health problems will rocket up when people are getting older. According to the report conducted by the American scientists, the percentages of people aged over 60 suffer from serious diseases like stroke, blood pressure ... are higher than the young. Moreover, the growth in lifespan does not entirely imply that people are healthier. In spite of the enhancement of the medical care in extending the longevity, it seems that these advanced techniques do not have so many effects on the health prior to the last few years of life.

Another reason why government should not increase the age at which people stop work is the decrease in productivity when people are over 60. Blue collar workers are the typical examples for this drawback. Manual jobs require them to work excessively long hours, so their bodies have worn out by the time they enter the 60s. As a result, they are not able to dedicate themselves fully to their jobs, leading to the fall in working efficiency. In addition, for the intellectual works, although the elderly is the source of experience workforce, their memories also drop substantially years by years, so actually they do not satisfied to the work demands.

Last but not least, extending the retirement age means higher unemployment for the youth. In fact, many conservative recruitment companies in Viet Nam and in other Asian countries do not change the way they thinking that senior labors work more effectively than the junior ones because the elderly has many experiences. These companies are also not willing to spend their money on training the young, so it is more difficult for young people to enter the labor market.

In conclusion, citizens and communities are affected by the higher retirement age with health problems, fall in productivity and higher unemployment for the young. Therefore, there is little room for doubt that the government should not increase the retirement age.