GRE Issue Essay: Kindly check the response and advice accordingly.

As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

RESPONSE:

Technology, in simple terms, is the solution developed by humans to make their everyday life easier. The introduction of newer technologies in market essentially represents the evolution of human creativity hence the current developments reflect our ability to envision lives that are less laboring and more meaningful. It is important to remember that humans may be dependent on technology but the technology is just as dependent on human mind.

From the laptops and other personal devices to the automated instruments and machineries, technology has made life easier. Multiple tasks may be performed with high efficiency in a relatively short time. The time hence secured can then be put to better usage. For example, a calculator helps students perform simple mathematical functions quickly. However, one must understand the problem and apply logic in order to develop a potential solution. This ultimately polishes our finer skills of problem solving which are applied in almost every part of human life.

Similarly, the ease with which the information is practically available at our fingertips has made it easier for us to work on the potential usage of this information. Personal devices such as laptops, tablets and mobile phones have made communication as well as interaction easier. Some may associate it with our lack of exposure to the books however, as scientifically evident, this easier interaction relates to increased exchange of ideas and thus, creativity.

Even the field of sciences has seen the advantages of introducing technology especially in laboratory settings. Many automated instruments and computing softwares have taken the task of collecting and organizing the scientific data. In this manner, several experiments run parallel and the accuracy of results is increasingly reliable. The 'Big Data' is hence presented and organized into data sets which may then be easily analyzed by the scientists. Although, most of the experimental techniques are performed by programmed instruments, the secrets hidden in between the numbers can only be figured out by the ever inquisitive mind of a scientist. This helps them to focus on developing solutions (such as better treatments) rather than gathering miles of data necessary for a reliable study.

In industries, automation has helped increase the growth of products. The automobile industry has recently seen a high rise in robotic assemblage corresponding to exponentially increased sales. Still, one of the most reputed automobile companies, Toyota is now returning to manual means. The reason behind such a decision is that the robots only perform a programmed procedure and lacks the human insight. The greatest innovations in automobiles and broadly, all other industries has been brought because of the understanding of finer details by the workers. For the introduction of more innovative products, it is necessary that men remain a constitutive part of the industrial workforce.

All in all, our reliance on technology has surely increased and some have become necessary for our daily lives to continue without hassle. Yet, it is the human mind that has led us to this era of technology and the end of such inventions is not in sight still. If anything, the latest innovations has challenged the human mind to come up with even more creative and insightful improvements in modern technology.