TOEFL Independent Essay - "To change or not to change"

"Some people enjoy change, and they look forward to new experiences. Others like their lives to stay the same, and they do not change their usual habits. Compare these two approaches to life. Which approach do you prefer? Explain why."

Human beings are in a constant changing process. From the moment a person is born till the end of his life, changes happen in his body, mind and world comprehension. This might be difficult to deal with for some people, which leads to the preference for not changing everyday habits and trying to keep controllable things as they are. On the other side, some people enjoy variety and look foward to things that might happen when something changes, and I include myself in this last group of people.

Most humans have a daily routine, which includes working or studying, eating, sleeping, and so on. In the current world that we live in, such routine is necessary. However, it turns our everyday life into a repeating cycle, making life a little bit uninteresting. In addition, it might even lead a person into questioning his own existance. Thus, in order to add excitement to a day-to-day routine, I personally change little things in my everyday life. For example, when going to college, I try to take different routes, in order to see different places in my own city. I also try to meet new people everyday, which is a great way to discover new points of view, interests and things that I've never heard of before.

It is true that I also enjoy things that do not change. I appreciate the fact that I have a bed to sleep on every night and that I can sit down and relax everyday after a long journey of tests and classes. However, when I change things, I add a feeling that is even better than what is constant in my life gives. For example, I am used to go to my own house everyday after college, but sometimes I like to go out with my friends and visit new places. We have been to several restaurants, parties, or even to each other's houses. These moments with them are the best memories I have from my college years so far, which makes me really happy and glad that I was able to try new experiences.

In conclusion, even though I appreciate things that are constant in my life, I enjoy much more the feeling of changing. Changes not only because provide me the opportunity to see new places or meet new and incredible people, but also because allow me to have amazing moments in my life and making it more interesting.