Get the most important characteristics of a society by studying its cities?

GRE - To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Is it really possible to study main characteristics of a society without study of the cities that are part of that? Sociologist have a wide variety of technics that help them to find main features of a society such as study major cities, study works of literature and study monuments. There can be no doubt that study major cities of a society can make a significant help to understand that society. In my view, study major cities is not necessary for discover important characters of a society.

First and foremost reason why study major cites does not make help is that a territories if a society my be spread among many countries and sometimes many continents. For instance, Western society is spread between North America and Europe therefore study a city such as New York City and Paris not help us but also distract sociologist. For example in New York City people always in hurry and usually eat fast foods on the other hand in Paris people pay more attention to their mealtime so eat their food in peace and some times take more than an hour to eat their main course. Thus who only studies these two cities cannot understand whether people in Western society have their meal in a hurry or peace.

A second instance in which study a major city is not necessary is that it takes long time for a society to form, so study a city only shows the contemporary situation of that city. For instance, study a current situation of Beijing - capital city of China - does not help us to understand important characteristics of East society. These days modern cities are changing dramatically and it is very hard to find static characters in them. In Eastern society people usually spend their time with their family at home but these days in a city like Beijing new recreation facilities motivate people to spend their times in night clubs rather than stay home with their families.

Last but not least reason why we should study more important factors instead of cities is that these days cities are full of people from different cultures and nationalities so it is very hard to find the similar attributes between them. For instance, It is very hard to find a Western society characteristics in a cosmopolitan like New York city because in that city you can find more than 25 different nationalities live together and each have their own specific culture.

In conclusion, it is clear that study major cities in a society does not help us to find important characteristics. These days cities are mixture of people with different thoughts, cultures and ideas and each of them belongs to a specific society. Ultimately, there are better ways rather than cities that help sociologist to discover most important characteristics of a society.