Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team?

Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer

I do not fear falling, for I have hands spread to hold me before I hit the ground; I do not fear failing for there are encouraging words and bright spirits to let my dreams not die. I just believe in joining hands, working together and sharing responsibilities, joys, sorrows, victories and defeats. And of course this team work pays me off. Working together in a group is much rewarding. For me, the ability to work in group is far more the important than to do it as an independent solitary striver.

First of all, team work renders an increase in the productivity and performance. A group can have people involving different areas of interests and skills. Sharing the work and responsibilities accordingly helps the team accomplish the task in comparatively lesser time with best possible results, for every individual can put their best efforts to their particular field. One of the best examples in the context is the Group-Study. If I am good at Algebra but cannot do well in Geometry and Arithmetic, I can probably sit with my friends who are weaker in Algebra and good at Arithmetic and Geometry; we can mutually help each other to have better and productive result. Similarly, the division of work among the group members in a company or an organization reduces the workload of the individuals encouraging them to perform better which consequently enhances productivity.

Development of skills is the other significant advantage of working together in group. Being a part of team, we can help ourselves develop inter-personal skills like speaking and listening. Furthermore, the other qualities like leadership, working with and motivating others be well learnt through team work. We learn how to work under a group and how to lead it. Also we learn are cooperation, patience, politeness and discipline. Such skills gained are useful not only during our academic career but throughout the life. In this way, team work lets us explore ourselves and gives opportunity to prepare for future.

The third, equally important thing the team work provides is the opportunity to know more about oneself. Working with a number of people helps us to identify our strengths and weaknesses. For example, we may be good at handling new issues and challenges or bad at handling the administrative works. We may have the ability to lead the group better than following a leader. This excellent opportunity to know oneself better can later serve us enhance self-awareness and help up tackle the problems in a more comfortable way.

Team work has several benefits over the independent self-approach doing a work. Not only does the team-work teach important qualities but also helps improve the overall performance of the team through emotional, financial and social support for any by each other. Being able to collaborate with a number of people and work together is a very useful skill. Useful skills can be helpful throughout our life. Therefore, it is important to be able to work among a group of people in a team rather than doing it alone.