IELTS_What do you think youth unemployment will cause to the individual and the society?

Hi, Thank you in advance for the kind help. I aim to get band 7 and above. Any feedback is appreciated.

In many countries, more and more young people are leaving schools and unable to find jobs after graduation. What do you think youth unemployment will cause to the individual and the society? And make some suggestions.

People born in the 1980s and 1990s, unlike the "baby boomers", are having a hard time finding employment after they graduate from universities due to the global financial crisis. For instance, less than 50% of the young people in Spain are employed, while their counterparts in Greece have even worse luck.

The high youth unemployment creates trouble not only for the individuals but also for the society. For individuals, unemployment leads to lower self-esteem and increased mental stress, not to mention the financial difficulty unemployment brings. Furthermore, if young people cannot find jobs after they left school, they may feel lost and lose hope for their future. For society, mass youth unemployment places a heavy burden on the welfare system and can even lead to social unrest.

I suggest three ways to battle youth unemployment. First, we should encourage companies to recruit more young graduates by giving them tax breaks incentive. For instance, the UK government has already introduced such rules that the companies are entitled to lower tax rate when they take on a certain number of young apprentice. Second, we should introduce more practical courses and even internships in schools where young people can horn their practical skills so that they become more attractive in the job market. Finally, we should keep encouraging young unemployed people to hunt for jobs and offer mock interview service so that they do not lose heart.

Youth unemployment is a social problem, and we should do all we can to battle this problem.