GRE-is history relevant to our daily lives?

hi, everyone!

I'm a chinese undergraduate, my first time to use this forum and it seems useful.

I need some suggestions for my essay. Thank you!

Present your prespective on the issue below, using relevant reasons or examples to support your views

Topic:"The study of history has value only to the extent that it is relevant to our daily lives."

Response

People live in present, care about the future. As today is the history of the future, the study of history not only has value on our daily lives, it also plays a big role in the progress of our society as well as our country.

For the individual, history is equal as the past, involving what we did and what we experienced before. Admittedly, we benefit from the past in several aspects.

First, we know the change and the progress of our lives by comparing the present with history. Our elder generations may mention how convenient and how precious our life is now, inspiring us to live continuously with passion and hope. We all eager to see what life will be in the future. Second, looking back the past, we improve ourselves by introspection. We get experience or lessons from studying what we did. It is true an experienced worker makes him be more popular than newbie, for he has more "pasts" to improve himself. Third, we can achieve happiness through history. It a common sense that we cherish the memory of our childhood and take photos as a souvenir after a party or a long journey. The past involves our happiness and we can re-enjoy them by looking back the past.

Also, the study history plays a big role in the area of science and technology, making progress of society. In order to forecast the trend of global warming, scientists will refer to the data of temperature in history. And I know that astronomers can't leave the records in history to research the orbits of plants. Equally, besides investigation and observation, biologists will take years to study the data of past to indicate the change of population of one specie. The study history provide a scientific method and access in the research of science and technology, aiming at providing better services for human of society.

What's more, history is a valuable treasure for a country. In the passage of time, the change of dynasties, social disorders and frequent natural disasters, all the important events in history provide lessons and experience for a nation. And the study of history to some extent serves the governor, helping a country to move to prosperity.

In sum, to study history is to develop the ability of self-examinations and through interpreting the unfolding human record, the study of history provide us a way to develop a better society.