TOEFL; GRADES ARE A GOOD INDICATOR FOR ASSESSING STUDENTS

Grade is a good indicator of students knowledge. It encourages student to effort more and analyze their mistakes. Most of teachers can evaluate their students in a best way by their grades in the examinations and make a competition between them. The difference between their grades is a good motivator which makes them to try and learn more to get a high grade. Of course it may have some drawbacks.

Sometimes this encouragement makes a jealousy and hatred between students. For instance , when a student beside of a great effort and studying who cant get a high grade it makes him or her feels inferiority and has hatred about their classmates, teachers and school. Teachers should be very careful when they convey the students grades. They will not neglect the feeling of their students about their grades because sensible students which may have a bad reflection to his or her grade. for example, some students may attempt suicide when they know they can not get a high grade. The role of teachers is a very important in this situation.

In addition to this, students have some kind of competition among each other for higher grades. When a student gets a higher grade than another one, the second student asks himself: "Why i do not have this grade? Is it something wrong with me? Is he better than me? ". I think every student at least one time asked himself or herself this question.

Finally , there is no doubt that grades encourage students to learn and gain more experience, knowledge, be more self-confident and persistent.