IELTS - governments or individuals should take care of environment? 'equal role'

Some people belivev individual are more imporant in taking care of environment, others thinks governments should be major responsible to it. discuss and give you opinion.

The issue of whether the government should take the more responsibility to protect environment than the individuals is of the great concerns to many people. In my opinion, the individuals are also play indispensable role in environmental protection, as we are all living in the same world.

It is true that governments have great obligation to govern the environment. For one thing, the major pollutions are normally created by big enterprise and factories. It is only the governments have the power or ability to restrict or force them to control pollutions in a reasonable measurement. For another, governments have a plenty of funding, resources and ability to cope with serious environmental incidents. For instance, 2 years ago, Japan experience a significant nuclear accident, it is only the government has techniques and powers to stop and prevent public away from the nuclear radiation.

However, the individuals' impact on the environments should not be neglected, because our behaviors are seriously impact on environments. For example, if all the people in Australia save 1 liter drinking water a day, then we can save almost 20 million liters water everyday to help 7 million people who live in water deficit environmental areas, as per person only need 3 liters water for live. In addition to this, if we are often taking public transport to go to work instead of driving private car, it not only improves the traffic conditions in cities, but also reduces the carbon dioxide emission and saving energy for world.

In conclusion, although it is the government duty to improve or protect our living environment, I believe everyone on the earth does enjoy the equal role. Therefore, the individual and the government are both play vital role in environmental protection.