IELTS essay: Should the government pay the tuition fees for students?

In recent years, education is becoming an issue of great concern in many countries, because it plays an important role for the development of each country. The question of whether or not the tuition fee should be covered by the government remains controversial. Personally, I strongly believe that students should pay their own university education because of three following reasons.

The first reason for my belief is the limitation of governments' budget. To be more specific, they have to pay for many other essential aspects, such as health care, environment, national security, science, and so on. Furthermore, the government has already invested in building schools, libraries, and supported for equipment, books, and the like. Students nowadays just pay tuition fees for salary of teaching staff and for improving of learning facilities.

Secondly, paying their own education fees may lead to better studying. Indeed, almost all people are often more responsible when they have to give out something. Students will be more likely to attend classes and try hard for studying. Therefore, they will have better academic results. In addition, universities usually have scholarships for good students, hence, if they want to get money back, they have to study much more in order to get best marks to achieve the scholarship.

Finally, students tend to find a part-time job when the government does not cover tuition fees. Because some students cannot afford their education fees, they have to earn money to pay for study materials. When they do part-time jobs, they will gain more experience which helps their future career.

In conclusion, it's my opinion that the educational authority should not cover the tuition fees for students. Money that students and their family have to pay brings many benefits not only for their country's development, but also for themselves.