Good news vs bad news; What factors influence this trend? IELTS

Topic:News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in

newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do

we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was

reported?

Newspaper and television is an integral part of everybody's life nowadays.They are enlightening the unpleasant activities that is happening around the World in their front page and headlines.People also give more emphasis to these in their day to day life.They have adapted to accept the harmful information and move forward.People should try to give more importance to the good deeds that is occurring in their neighborhoods and in the World.Many factors influence the decision of the editor in order to come to a conclusion about what information should reach the public immediately.This has become a common debated issue these days.

First of all,sensationalism and target rating point are the two most important influencing factors that makes a television channel to telecast a program or a news.Second of all,newspaper circulation and popularity had also produced a great impact about what information to be printed in the newspapers.These factors in turn depend on the majority of the population who read newspapers and who watch television news.For example, if we see what majority of the people in office or public places are discussing these days they discuss about the bad news.I feel that overtime,people's psychology have changed and they have suited themselves to live in this kind of environment.

In this fast moving world,where anti-socialism is on the rise,people want to protect themselves from danger.Therefore,bad news should reach the public immediately for their safety.For example,a couple of months ago there was a major natural disaster followed by nuclear explosion in one of the southeast Asian countries.In this kind of situation,to ensure the safety of the public,editors should make sure they telecast and edit the correct information.Some editors have their own personal choice and tend to print and telecast the information about what they like.For example,editors might have migrated and any news which is of no social value from their region will be given priority.These are the main factors that influence an editor to make a choice of various inputs to headlines.

Although it's an individual's choice to prioritize,if we receive the good news it will produce a positive impact and the outlook about the society amongst the population might change.Insecurities and unnecessary fear could disappear.People's psychology will change in-course of time.Instead of bad news if we start to discuss about the good things in life like love,faith and hope amongst ourselves editors will attempt to change their attitude about their choice of news.

Each and every individual should make an effort to bring about this change i would say.

Personally, i think we all should take an oath that we share the good news first followed by the bad news in order to develop a peaceful harmonious society.If the owners of the newspapers and television started to believe that they play a pivotal role in the development of a nation and strict to their morality instead of thinking that they are their business ventures the World will progress towards harmony.