A good neighbor must be respectful and thoughtful - TOEFL independent essay

Neighbors are the people who live near us. In your opinion, what are the qualities of a good neighbor? Use specific reasons and examples in your answer.

There is an Arabic proverb that goes "Choose the neighbor before you choose the house", which means, while choosing a house to buy, neighbors are more important than the house. In my opinion, a good neighbor must be respectful and thoughtful.

First of all, a good neighbor respects his neighbors. He does not make noise after midnight or when one of his neighbors is sick. He always greets the other neighbors whenever he sees them. For example, I remember one of my neighbors who was an old man, waters the plants of his front garden, every morning, and greets every passerby with a smile. One day, he did not show up as usual, everyone missed him. When they went to ask about him, they found out that he was sick.

Additionally, a good neighbor must be thoughtful. He cares about his neighbors and ready to help them in the times of need. He also has a sense of responsibility; whenever one of his neighbors has a trouble he rushes to give him a helping hand. Besides that, he remembers his neighbors in the special occasions and celebrations. For instance, the lady who lives next door likes cooking and always sends us dishes and cakes, especially in the religious occasions.

To sum up, a neighbor is not less important than the house. With respectful and thoughtful neighbors, anyone can live in peace and harmony in his neighborhood.