Getting advice from friends who are older vs friends of your own age

There is an argument over whether or not getting advice from older friends is more valuable than getting advice from friends of my own age. Some believe that advice from the older is more influential and more valuable. Indeed, I agree that older friends are better at offering advice than friends of my own age.

Initially, older friends can give me better advice since they have more experience than me. Generally, older people have more experience attending school than me. This indicates that they have already gone through the way I will go so they are undoubtedly seasoned based on their experience. For instance, when I was junior in high school, I had a best friend who was a year older than. Though I was ignorant of all the school rules and work because it was my first year in school, he helped me out of the difficulties. He told me what to wear for the dress code and how to behave towards the teacher. Had it not been for his help and kindness, I would have not adapted to the new environment. Perhaps I would have fallen flat on my face like a person who fits in nowhere. Therefore, helpful and useful advice comes from older friends with more experience than me.

In addition, older friends are more knowledgeable than me in academic work. Not only are they experienced in school life, but they are also more skilled and more expert academically. As grades are becoming higher, students learn more knowledge and more academic theories. This means that the students who are older than me may teach me better than friends of my own age. For example, when I was a junior in high school, I always asked seniors about school projects and tests. I believed that they were more intelligent on the grounds that they were taking higher-level classes. I ended up having great academic performance due to the help from the seniors who gave me professional suggestions and even feedback. I still appreciate their help; moreover, I realized that it is remarkable when older students advise younger ones in terms of schoolwork. Hence, advice from older friends who have more knowledge is helpful for younger ones to be successful in school life.

Needless to say, I firmly agree that older friends advise me much better than friends of my own age. Not only do older friends have more experiences, but they also have more academic knowledge. From now on, there should be a long-lasting culture where older and younger people are more in harmony.