GED Practice essay: Do you think people learn from their mistakes?

Please score my GED practice essay from 1 - 4 (4 being the highest) and let me know what areas I can improve. Thanks.

Topic: Do you think people learn from their mistakes?

Do people learn from their mistakes? I believe most do, but the real question is 'How much?'. As the saying goes, "Experience is the name we give to our mistakes". The lessons we learn from life are the result of all the mistakes we've made in the past. There are 2 kinds of people, Those that view their mistakes as failures, and those that view it as a stepping stone to greatness. Everyone messes up occasionally, we're only human. But learning how to deal with it is a fundamental part of growing up.

The importance of understanding mistakes cannot be understated. On one hand, you have people that never correctly identify their problems, blaming themselves for being inadequate and incapable of performing the task at hand. They end up getting stuck in a mental rut and are bound to repeat the same mistakes over and over again. On the other, there are those that regard mistakes as a learning experience. They look closer at what went wrong, analyze it and use that information to better themselves.

Nobody in this world has never made a mistake, even the greatest of the great in their field, from sports to academia to music. The greatest musicians, from Mozart to Jimi Hendrix were undoubtedly born with a certain level of talent. But in order to play that efficiently they had to make an endless number of errors, playing out of tune and hitting the wrong notes, correcting them and trying again. Only after years of training in this fashion were they able to progress. If they had given up early and saw themselves as failures, they wouldn't have become the legends they are today.

As we grow older we tend to be more cautious of making mistakes. For example, how did you learn to walk as a kid? You would grab onto a support and try to hoist yourself up, eventually falling down and getting back up again. At that age, you didn't understand the meaning of 'mistake' or the negative connotations associated with it, you just knew that if didn't try, you'd never learn how to walk. Unfortunately, as time passes we become more self aware and expect more from ourselves. We get embarrassed and frustrated with our blunders, and shy away from instead of confronting them.

Finally, I'd like to say that people do learn from their mistakes. And those that don't, should. For in order to accomplish anything significant in our lives we must learn to embrace our mistakes and focus not on what went wrong, but on how it could be improved.