Formal exams and Course Assignments; Which is better to assess students?

Formal examinations has been considered as a best testing method ever to identify students levels at school for decades in developed countries. However, course work and dissertations which are much more applied in university dynamics in Western countries are demeaned worse in some old point of views. This essay will examine argument for and against both of sides for each kind of measurement.

In the first place, it is often argued that conventional tests conducting at each semester at school are very clear and require student's well-preparation, which exactly assess the student's ability. However, it might be not totally true in this contemporary time. Indeed, with the today's technological advancement, obviously, the wrong-doings happening in exams are inevitable. For instance, many students use phones and super small sophisticated machines to know answers already though stern-discipline investigations of observers in many developing nations in Asian area. In doing so, they always get high scores and be evaluated at top-qualified students at school.

Furthermore, many people believe that formal exams are seen to be transparent. Obviously, hardly can educational systems act like that. Bribery phenomenon has been a widespread issue in many nations especially in developing countries. In Viet Nam, it is not difficult for an individual at school to get an excellent result provided that money given to teachers or examiners.

In the other hand, course works has been applied recently in western nations like Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. In that kind of wide-scaled homework, students have a privilege to reference any open-documents as to creatively brainstorm towards their objects. The most benefit here is that no limitations, pressure on their mind, which constrains their thinking. In addition, the regulations in most school apply course works are strict enough to stay students far away from bribery

Overall, I am convinced that course works are much better adopted at academic educational systems for students. Principles at school need to change their mindset to up-to-date adequate measurements to assess student's ability in any levels.