Foreign language study by children in the first education level is more effective than in second

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather that secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely believed that studying foreign language for children in the first education level is more effective than in secondary school. While some educationalists recommended it, I believe that the drawbacks to study second language in the first year are more than the benefits that might be gained by children.

Admittedly, learning other languages is important for children. It is more likely related to their intelligence. The earlier they introduced to some languages, the easier for them to understand it well. The study conducted by Cynthia Garcia Coll, a researcher of Brown University, discovered that children at the preteen age will master other languages effectively than those who start to learn after this period. The student at secondary school will experience some difficulties to memorize words and practice the language in daily life fluently. Thus, it is evident that introducing foreign language for children as soon as possible, in particular primary school is good for their development.

However, there is a huge risk of studying foreign language for children in the primary school. One of the major considerable reasons is that, as the first education level, pupils still adapt to use their natural language. They can be confused to distinguish both of native and second languages. Thus, they are likely to suffer dyslexia, a common disease found in children of primary school. The problems include diff1iculties in spelling words, reading quickly, writing words, and understanding what one reads. The second reason is children who practice bilingual will experience some difficulties to interact in the society. They become reluctant to adapt and isolated in the environment. Moreover, pupil studying another language is possible to lose their nationality soon. They become more likely to learn other languages and have a better understanding of other cultures than their own.

In conclusion, while studying foreign language in the primary school is beneficial, I believe that children will receive many more drawbacks absolutely. Therefore, introducing children to both of native and foreign languages in formal education should be trained appropriately.