IELTS; FIXED PUNISHMENT FOR CRIMES? Or they need to be based on circumstances?

CAMBRIDGE IELTS 7 TEST 2 WRITING TASK 2 page 54

Crime and criminals go hand in, one thing which can deter them from committing these UN -lawful acts is a proper judicial system consisting of prompt execution of justice and punishment.

Fixed punishment lacks flexibility and a narrow foresight for e.g. A child is s accused for death of an individual, then according to the law this juvenile is a 'perfect candidate' for death penalty because "murder" is the focus not the circumstances in which this crime was committed and if the whole scenario is consider it perhaps be the 'game changer' in this case in turn saving this child from un- justified death penalty

Next, if complex cases comprising of various mysteries in itself props-ups in the courtroom, the judges would be perplexed, confused - how to go about such criminal cases because critical 'out the box' thinking is not involved and only fixed punishment laws is to be followed.

Thirdly, a criminal can present forged evidences, false witness to deviate the course of justice as not check and balance is present in such fixed punishment system, consequently innocent suffer and eventually are behind bars (jail) instead of the real culprit.

In contrast, if situation, main purpose behind a criminal act and the mental status of a convict are considered then un-just and fatal decision issued by the court of law could be prevented for e.g. A mentally ill patient escapes from the mental asylum and suddenly starts to pellet pedestrians with stones, in this process he or she fatal injuries one pedestrian- then automatically he or she will be liable for death penalty as they have taken someone's life even if this individual is not mentally sound even to evaluate his only actions in addition to this similar circumstances are also seen in many juvenile criminal case hope fully in reality these children are sent to re- habitation center or juvenile jails rather than be punished with capital punishment. Thus inquiring over all view on any case is vital and it would increase the relative degree of precision of handling of evidence and scrutiny and strengthen civilian's faith in the judicial system of their country