[TOEFL] 'Firstly, people want to have more knowledge' - why attend to college or university?

Thank you for helping me!

Topic: People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Answer

Studying at universities and colleges are dreams of many people all over the world. Since the historical time, attending university has always been the goal of many high school students. Nowadays, thanks to the globalization, students can not only attend universities or colleges in their own countries but they can apply to many universities which are bigger, more prestigious and more famous in over the world. As a result, there are concerns about the reasons why students apply to study at universities. In my opinion, I believe students wish to be members of universities because of these following reasons.

Firstly, people want to have more knowledge. College students can obtain higher education in a way which is obviously different from it in high schools. Moreover, colleges focus on specific majors, which can help us to approach professional books and study materials. There are people loving chemistry, but there are also others who like to know more about economics. Therefore, they try to attend universities to satisfy their curiousness about this world.

Secondly, studying a particular major at college could give people chances to get good jobs in the future. If they have professional knowledge as well as skills, people will get stable careers and incomes, which is very important to have a wealthy and happy life. On the other hand, with a stable life, people will be able to pursue their other dreams such as travelling around the world - just like me.

Thirdly, I personally think there are people who attend universities because of their family wishes. For example, I have a cousin. She is very intelligent and loves biology. Her wish is that she could be an excellent doctor to help other people. However, she studies accounting because her parents think it is a better job for girls.