first impression about a person´s character - toefl

Some people trust their first impressions about a person's character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person's character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong. Compare these two attitudes. Which attitude do you agree with? Support your choice with specific examples.

First impression could be the greatest guideline or could be the worst. When we talk about person's character there are a lot of factors, which influence first impression. Some people trust in first impression about a person's character because it has the advantage of being a great piece of information. However I consider that disadvantages are more dangerous; therefore, I agree with the statement that people do not judge a person's character quickly because first impression could be wrong.

There is a great advantage related with first impression: is better than nothing. As a human being, we develop several defense methods, and first impression is one of them. Sometimes, when we have to face unknown people for the first time, we try to anticipate how they are. We extract all the information available and use it to develop the first impression, trying to make an idea about the new people. For example, I change my behaviuor when I see people in suit, just because I assume that those people are more polite and educated.

Nevertheless, there is a great disadvantage: first impression could be wrong. People's behavior is influenced by many factors such as people who surrounding, the environment and so on. So, people change their behaviour according to the situation. For example, I remembered the time when I went to my first job interview with Raul, my boss. I noted that I assume a formal behaviour, even when I know that I am not so formal. After a few months later, Raul told me that he was wrong idea about me because he believed that I was a very formal person.

To sum up, I agree with the idea that we do not judge person's character quickly. I consider than first impression could be a very good approach in order to imagine how people are, especially when they are unknown. However, first impression can be wrong so we need more information in order to judge person's character accurately.