Are you in favour of exams being abolished?

Exams has been an important part of the education system, which gives teacher an evaluation of student's learning capability and a dynamic check of their progress during the course. However, many people oppose to these, claiming that using only an exam to decide one's ability and knowledge is quite spontaneous and put students under pressure. But for me, exams still plays a crucial part in school and classes.

Firstly, exams and tests require students to review their knowledge and study at home. If they only listen to their teachers in the classroom and don't have to take exams or assessment tests, they wont pay much attention to the lesson and the efforts of teachers went down the drain. Thanks to improvements made with regards to test bias, standardized exams and tests are getting more and more accurate, reflecting well the progress made by the student and giving better comparisons between students. Therefore, students must learn and revise subjects outside the class to get good grades, which results in a much wider and deeper understanding of the knowledge learned.

Secondly, as in future life, especially in this information age, pressure is a constant problem. Exams is a way for young people to face pressure and find a way to get over it. This early practice can also benefit the student by learning to control worry and nervousness in important situations. If a student can't keep calm and do worse than they had expected, it's unlikely that he/she'd perform much better in their future job, which is full of deadlines and stress. In other words, I think exam is a good way to provide students with skills to be ready for future life.

To conclude, we can't deny the benefits of exams and tests. If wisely made and used, they can be a tool to check students' progress, make them study and train their skills to reduce pressure. Therefore, exam's role in our education is still huge and it shouldn't be abolished.