How far do you agree that Music needs words to be of any interest?

"Where words fail, Music speaks." The line quoted by Hans Christian Andersen definitely sheds some light on the polemical question, "Does Music need words to be of any interest?" I believe that Music is a language that doesn't have to be effable. One need not be a scholar or extremely talented to understand the meaning a certain song or piece wants to convey. Music with words definitely makes it simpler for someone to grasp onto the song's concept, however, that does not magically make a song more interesting now does it? Even without the lyrics, the music remains, and this in my opinion is the main highlight of any song; it is the instigator of interest in the listener.

Most people have definitely heard 'Fur Elise', the most popular work by Ludwig Van Beethoven, at least once in their lifetime. The tune is just so catchy and melodious that one simply can't forget it. 'Fur Elise' doesn't host lyrics of any kind, yet still why is it so popular? When you listen to this piece, it speaks to you. It tells the story of a broken hearted man, someone who loved but who wasn't loved. Words are not necessary to explain the feeling this piece gives to someone; it can simply be interpreted by one listen. In fact most of the famous musicians in the classical era had no words in their songs or requiems. Famous composers like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Liszt and Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky are some of the many Classical era masterminds who helped develop Modern Music. They also didn't sport words in most of their works. Now, they definitely wouldn't have been famous if their music wasn't interesting, so this just proves that words aren't a necessity for Music to be interesting.

Moving on to the present day, lyrics are ubiquitous in the music industry. There might only be select few which don't host lyrics. However this doesn't change the fact that without the main music, lyrics cease to have the same impact on listeners. Often in the process of producing a song the music is composed first. After a feel for the music is obtained lyrics is written accordingly. This gives the impression that music is the core of any song, whereas lyrics just compliments it, but when music and lyrics go hand in hand, the most melodious songs are created.

Music is actually a very flexible language as well. It can be anything one wants it to be. The euphony of birds chirping early in the morning to funky tunes made from banging pots and pans; music is all around us. Perhaps that's why composer John Cage's most famous and amusing work, 4'33" , features nothing but silence for 4 minutes and 33 seconds. He implies that music is everywhere around us, the noises people make or maybe just a simple sneeze. The harmony of our enigmatic yet exuberant life is in fact music, so why would words really be needed to make it any more interesting?

In a nutshell, Music itself is explanatory. It doesn't require any sort of words to elucidate itself. Moreover, on the topic of arousing interest, I really don't believe that words are the major factor which makes music interesting; rather I believe that the music itself is the most interesting component of the song. Thus the conclusion drawn is that Music doesn't need any sort of words for it to be interesting, rather it is the words that require music in order to be more exciting, more interesting.