Evaluation of today's urbanization. Are modern buildings ruin our cities or towns?

Question :

Some people say that modern buildings are ugly and are ruining our towns and cities, especially when these buildings are very different from those around them. Others say that they add variety and interest.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Introduction :

Designing buildings is a common trend in urban area. Because of this, some people believe that modern buildings benefit and add brilliance to cities since their design are offbeat and attractive. On the other hand, buildings with unique construction are more likely to be hideous buildings and they devalue the cities' environment as their architectures contrast with their neighborhood buildings. However, I believe that modern buildings can be beneficial for the cities as long as their design bring harmony to their neighborhood.

Modern buildings give more benefits to the cities. For this reason, most people believe that the more magnificient the building, the more positive impacts that cities will receive. As the design of modern buildings are different and colorful from their neighborhood, it can be a point of interest of the cities and it can encourage tourism aspects as tourists found an interest to visit the cities. As such, magnificient buildings are not spoil the cities but value it.

On the other hand, modern buildings damage entire view of the cities, as their design against the concept of their neighborhood. For example, The Walt Disney Concert Hall that has spectacular design, waving shape and bright appearance. However, the metalic material which covering the building are too shiny and reflecting some lights. Consequently, it causes the driver who passes nearby the building nearly blind and the reflection of the building heats up some neighborhood buildings. Therefore, this modern building is impressive, but has negative impact to it's neighborhood.

Above all, I would argue that modern building will give more benefit to the cities when their design embrace their neighborhood buildings. Take an example, Muse de Louvre, a museum built in the middle of classic architecture buildings. However, the modern glasses construction is not ruin other old architectures, yet it is being part and parcell with them. As a result, together they attract more tourist to take in line for entering this museum. Therefore, there is no doubt that modern building can advantage the cities as it has humble design.

To conclude, it is evident that there are negative and positive impacts of modern buildings. However, I would say that the design of the buildings is the one that can bring merit or demerit to the cities. Therefore, it is imperative for city council to pay attention on the design and on the neighborhood before constructing a building.