equal importance; Better to have broad knowledge or specialize in one subject?

Hi, i am new here. Please help me edit my essay. Thanks a lot.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your essay.

There are a lot of different ways for people to learn knowledge. People can learn by having broad knowledge covering many academic subjects, or they can learn by focusing on one specific subject. Which is better? From my perspective, I think both the general knowledge of subjects and the specific techniques in one subject hold equal importance to the development of individuals and the society as a whole.

First of all, general knowledge over many subjects gives a person an all-round understanding of this world, which makes him or her think thoughtfully and critically. When encountering some problems, he or she could consider them from variable angles, trying to figure out solutions from different aspects. Through establishing connections with many disciplines or fields, people may reach more convenient and effective approaches to the problems. Therefore, broad knowledge of many subjects contributes to broaden a person's horizon of evaluating problems, and improve his or her problem-solving abilities.

However, specialized knowledge in one subject is also indispensable for a person because this world is fast developing into a world in a great demand of specialized talents. We need specialized technicians in all walks of life, from manufactory industry to finance industry, and even in some newly development fields. Take me as an example, my major is turfgrass management, which aims at cultivating talents for the golf course industry. We learn how to exploit cultural practices to make the grass grow better and healthier for the golfers to play on, such as irrigation, fertilization, pest management, weed control and so forth. This job was regarded as a narrow category of landscape maintenance or horticulture years ago, but now it is of great importance to the golf turfgrass industry. Thus, from the example discussed above, we could conclude that specialized skills in one subject take advantage as well.

To sum up, it is very hard to say whether having a wide range of knowledge outweighs specializing in a specific subject or not. Both of these abilities are essential for a person, and the future development of society.