Employers should observe employees - Analysis essay

Rather than using the traditional question and answer interviews to evaluate job candidates,

employers should observe as they perform some of jobs actual tasks.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion expressed

above. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own

experience, observations, or reading.

The issue at hand of either using an interview as an evalutaion tool of candidate or reviewing the performance of of the employee on the actual tasks of job is a controversial one.On one hand, question and answer interviews are necessary because employees can be actually judged on the answers or solutions they provide to the questions thrown

at interview. On the other hand, interviews may not sometimes fully represent the cadidates actual personality and hidden talents in as short time period.However in the final analysis, I believe that interviews are an inseperable part for the selection of an appropriate candidate with pre-requisite knowledge of the job role and resposibility.

One reason for my belief that interviews are necessary is that the answers or solutions provided by the candidate to the questions posed represent the knowledge of the candidate in the field. It shows how well the candidate can handle situations and find out solutions to problems. It also represents how spontaneous is the candidate in ariving at a solution or giving an innovative idea.

Another reason for my belief is that interviews can be treated as a stage which represents the personality of the employee. The unique body-language, expressions,confidence-level, eye-contact are only possible in a face-to-face interview. These unique personality traits can go unidentified without a interview.

Perhaps the best reason is interviews,if correctly judged, can give an idea of how well the candidate would perform in the actual job environment. Without interview, giving a candidate a direct opportunity to work in an organisation may posess great risks of wastage of valuable resources of time and money if the employee fails to achieve the desired goals.

For all these reasons, I therefore believe that interviews play a crucial role in selection of candidate in that it can give a clear picture of how well the candidate is suited for a job that demands knowledge and experience. On the contrary, giving a candidate a direct opportunity to perform on actual tasks may pose a serious risk of wasting valuable resources like time and money if the candidate fails to achieve the desired objectives.