IELTS Task 2 : The Effects of Tourism and How to Reduce Negative Impacts of It

Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to.

How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Several people believe that travel agent may affect a lot of negative impacts to the place where is the destination of tourists. This essay will examine how tourism can affect the countries that is the destination of people and discuss some possible solutions to decrease the drawbacks on that practises and surroundings. However, I think the tourism will bring more positive effects than negative impacts.

The predominant factors resulting in negative effect of the countries which is travel destination of tourist is littering of the environment in local place. For example, cruise ships in Carribean Sea is estimated waste more than 70,000 tons of waste. The solid waste and littering can influence and cause the death of marine animals and also they can degrade the appearance of the land. Another reason for the local place is being noisy and causing air pollution. The transportation in tourism may affect the city to be more crowded and because of an exhaust gas of the vehicle.

In contrast, there are also many positive effects of many tourisms in local place. Firstly, the tourism will increase the income of local people, so it will be one of the advantage for them. And another reason is the tourism will pay the tax to local government and it will brings a benefit for building and improving their area. Then, it may become their merit because the inhabitants can learn many languages for foreign people who come in.

Nevertheless, there are potential ways to solve the problems, or at least reduce the negative impacts. To begin, the tourist have to pay the tax to the government of tourist destination and the government will employee cleaning service in every tourist destination. Next, every tourist should use friendly environment vehicle, so it can reduce air pollution and the noise of the vehicle.

To conclude, although tourism brings negative impacts to local inhabitants, there are steps that governments and individuals can take to reduce the effects. If the people want to travel to somewhere new, they have to be responsible of its environment.