Which is more effective - consultancy from consultants or listening to employees

Some companies hire consultants who can suggest ways to work more efficiently . Some believe if companies would listen to employees more, then there would be no need to hire consultants . Time taken : 30 minutes

Today it has become the trend for the companies to hire outside consultants for the suggestion to operate the respective companies more efficiently. Some believe that consultancy is the necessity for the growth while some believe if the companies would listen to their employees more, such consultants would be unnecessary.

It is argued that are the companies run by employees or the workers should do what a consultant ask the company to do? According to my opinion, a successful company is the one who treats the employees like a family and rely on them to improve further. It is necessary for the company to listen to the feedback and suggestions from the people who spend more time in their job to run the company. Studies have shown the employer-employee bond has proved to be beneficial for the company. The feedback should include what prompts the employees to work more efficiently and what prevents them from achieving their goals. Efficiency of the company is determined by the work load and effectiveness to handle that work load by that organization. Thus, it is recommended by the business to focus on the hands running the business. Furthermore, consultants demand huge fees which is sometimes compensated with the low salary of employees. For this reason, I would suggest the company should spend more time in listening to their own people who are eventually responsible for the outcome. Had the employees be not satisfied , this would lead to low output for the economy of the company.

On the other hand, consultants are more experienced thus, more erudite in their judgments and suggestions. They work for various companies and know what would be the best effective way to gain a position in the market. Despite their huge amount of fees, they sometimes provide an expert opinion which can do miracles for a business in a huge crisis.

Employees are the drivers of the company whereas the consultant could be the passenger who is rich enough to flourish the business for these drivers even by a single ride. Employees sometimes need a guidance for which consultants come into role. Employees could be novice sometimes or may be their perspective towards the company could be biased depending upon their satisfaction in the job whereas the consultant would be unbiased and would provide the practical suggestion. Sometimes, people are more concerned about their job only and take it for granted and thus, can not give an opinion about the company as a whole whereas the consultant's job is to give advice only for which he is being paid, thus would give more fruitful suggestion. Therefore, I believe both are necessary for the company.

In a nutshell, I would say that getting feedback from the employees or listening to the employees , though is the foremost requirement for growth but concurrently, hiring a consultant for extra advice who will be more experienced than the employees would prove beneficial too. Employees are the drivers of the company whereas the consultant could be the passenger who is rich enough to flourish the business for these drivers even by a single ride.