Eating at restaurant vs eating at home; Which is better?

Some people prefer to eat at food stands or restaurants. Other people prefer to prepare and eat food at home. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people prefer to eat out at restaurants while others who rather eat at home. Of these two ways of eating, I prefer to eat at home because it is cheaper, faster and more nutritious.

At first, eating at home is cheaper because it reduces the cost by many ways like it cuts travelling cost to restaurants; I do not need to give tips, do not need to pay tax and service charge at my home. Also the cost of groceries is much cheaper than the cost of a restaurant entrée. For example: dinner usually costs $10 - 15 in a restaurant versus $1 - 3 at home.

Likewise, eating at home is faster as preparing dinner can take about 30 - 60 minutes. Generally it takes 10 minutes for cleaning & washing, 5 minutes for cutting the ingredients and 15 to 30 minutes for cooking them. While going to dinner takes time to drive, to park, to go in, to get seated and to order food. Travelling time exceeds usual when there is heavy traffic in route. Sometimes when the seats are not available I have to wait for about half an hour or more. So altogether this can take a lot more than 60 minutes.

More importantly, eating at home is more nutritious & healthier because I choose the best ingredients to cook with, but I don't know the kind of ingredients the restaurant uses. Most things are adulterated so I select them carefully from good store. I do not use rotten food, but I don't know if the restaurants do. These are not healthy. I always buy fresh vegetables and meat to cook and I do not use preservatives, but restaurants often do. I also do not put additional things in my cooking as restaurants do just to increase the taste. These have very serious adverse effects on our health. I cook ingredients at low temperature or at the temperature recommended for cooking to preserve the nutrients. For example I cook vegetables at low temperature and by covering the pot; I put salts at the end of cooking to preserve iodine which otherwise will evaporate if put in the beginning as it is a volatile substance. I don't think these points are considered in mind while cooking in restaurants. It is meaningless to eat food if it is neither nutritious nor healthier; I don't eat food merely to fill my stomach. So I like to eat nutritious and healthier food at home.

In short, being health conscious person, I prefer to eat at home because I can save money, eat quickly and eat well.