IELTS Essay task 2 -Damage of the environment is an inevitable consequence of worldwide improvements

HI Everyone, I really need some help in my essay for the coming IELTS exam. I deeply appreciate all ur help and kindness. Thank You.

Topic: Damage of the environment is an inevitable consequence of worldwide improvements in the standard of living. Discuss.

Nowadays, environment damage is a controversial issue facing many nations around the world. Some people argued that the rise of the standard of living greatly causing environmental damage. Others contend that there is no relevance between environmental damage and the standard of living. This essay proposed a balanced approach.

The first thing about environmental damage is that it is a result of the rising standard of living among countries. This is due to the fast development, competition and the industrial activities which drive the needs for a higher quality, modern life. As a consequence, a vast area of lands are deforested, as well as higher consumption of fossil fuel that eventually leads to increased greenhouse gases and climate change. Therefore, the rise of the standard of living put a cost to our environment and thus, efforts should be taken to prevent it.

On the other hand, environmental damage is equally influenced by the negligence of the society itself. Protecting the environment no longer become their priorities due to the lack of awareness and indulgence in working lifestyle. People take less concern about their environmental responsibilities thus causing damage to their surroundings. For instance, smog release from industrial plants due to weak environmental policy and regulation.

In conclusion, while it is true that the damage of environment is a consequence of the standard of living, but it is also influenced by the society's own negligence. This issue if not treated properly could become serious and go to the extremes. Thus, the environment damage is a consequence of both human negligence and the standard of living.