the culture of Thailand and China: Compare and contrast

Topic: compare and contrast the culture of Thailand and China

The first cultural difference between Thailand and China relates to customs. To begin with, both countries are different in relation to the type of festivals. For example, Thailand has a water-sprinkling festival, which begins from the 13th April and ends on the 15th April. People in Thailand sprinkle water on each other as a part of this cultural event. The reason why people celebrate the water-sprinkling festival is to make themselves cool because the weather in Thailand is always hot and humid. In contrast, China has a spring festival, which is starts from the January 1st and finishes the January 15th based on the Chinese Calendar. The way people celebrate is by setting off fireworks, visiting relatives and giving wishes to each other. For the sake of harvesting time, people celebrate the spring festival. Furthermore, people from both countries place different importance on customs. For instance, Thai people believe that the importance of customs what they really enjoy never change, whereas, Chinese people think that the importance of customs had changed since they grown up, it had become boring. To sum up, Thailand and China have a large difference in customs.

The second area of cultural difference between Thailand and China concerns education. First of all, based on different education system, Thailand and China have different school fees. For example, Thai students have to pay a significant amount of money for primary school, middle school and high school, while Chinese education for students is free. Second, students in both countries have different time for studying in school. For instance, Thai students need to study at school from 8:00AM to 4:00PM. Unlike Chinese students, they have to go to school from 7:00AM to 9:00PM. Furthermore, students' holidays are different in these two countries. For example, Thai students just have 2 months summer holidays. However, Chinese students have two holidays: one is a one and a half months summer holiday; and the other is a one month winter holiday. In conclusion, the situation of education in Thailand differs from China.

In spite of these two differences, there is a cultural similarity between Thailand and China, to do with lifestyle. Firstly, because of cultural globalization, they both have the same pace of life. For example, not only Thai people but also Chinese people walk very fast and generally look busy. Secondly, due to locate in Asia, compared to the past, Thailand and China have experienced similar changes in lifestyle. For instance, in the past, Thai people were more peaceful and relax, so were Chinese people. Moreover, people from both countries engage in the same activities after work. For example, people in Thailand prefer to go to bars after work; similarly, Chinese people like to have fun in pubs. Finally, people from both countries are not satisfied with their life; they both are willing to change. For instance, both Thai people and Chinese people want to get the perfect they like because they always complain the salary and the workplace are not good enough. In conclusion, lifestyle is a common point of similarity between Thailand and China.