IELTS essay : criminal who send to prison would commit crimes when set free

Research suggests that majority of criminal who send to prison would commit crimes when set free, what do you think of this case? What to be done to solve this problem?

With the criminal rate surging, some people argue that the hardened criminals violate laws simply for offences' criminal tendency. They even suggest that these culprits should be punished by capital punishment. From my perspective, however, reverting to crime is rooted in several reasons, including the proliferation of mistreatment in cells, crime's trauma and criminals being dis-socialized. To cope with the problems, lenient measures should be adopted by authorities.

Firstly, the contributing factor is ill-treat. The number of inmates suffered from the cruel punishment has on the rise. Convicts abused may disobey impulsively the law when they are out of prisons. Moreover, inmates' trauma is blamed for the raising rate of repeated offenders. Convicts lived in the astonishingly harsh condition would more likely to resent society, thereby breaking the law once again, with no regard for the moral code. The repeated crime is also influenced by perpetrators' isolated life. Inmates being imprisoned for years are probably unable to integrate into a community because they are concerned about the society's discrimination.

The fundamental solution to reduce the number of hardened criminals would be to enhance surveillance systems in jails, in order that convicts' fight could be under control. In addition, the corruption, bribery and abuses of prisoners should be prevented, which can greatly better inmates' life condition. Meanwhile, authorities should educate the prisoners about how to be a law-abiding-citizens and provide them with employment opportunities. Most importantly, while the existence of discrimination, the authorities should encourage local companies to offer jobs to first-time offenders.

In conclusion, the reason for the issue of the repeated crime is diverse. Technically, only through either careful process or lenient policy could we decrease the incidence of the repeated crime and improve security of the society.