Why We Crave Horror Movies

Jereese N Watkins

Dev 041 11am

May 26, 2010

In the movie "Why We Crave Horror Movies," author Stephan King tells about why we love violence so much and how we are a little bit insane. He also talks about the things we wanted to do that are evil but never dare to put them into action. In today's society, it is easy to understand Stephan King's story. I'm going to give three reasons why I agree with what he said that are related to today's society.

One reason I agree with Stephan King is "I think that we're all mentally ill" (1). I think this saying is very true especially in today's society; people from the simple lives can one day just snap into insanity. Every time you turn on the news, you hear stories of people killing in the crime of passion. For example I went online to read the news and found out two Georgia teenage twin girls had brutally killed their mother. They must have been mentally ill and could hide it very well to killing their own mother.

Another reason that I also agree with is that we want to test our fears. We want to prove that we are not afraid of anything and that death is not a fear. For instance, we go to see horror movies to prove that we are not afraid or maybe we go to see horror movies because we fantasize doing something like that in the real world. When you go to sleep every night, there would be two things that you will dream if you went to see a horror movie. You will either become the prey or the predator, but in my dreams I become the predator. I go to the movies to see what the worst can happen in real life.

The last reason I agree with Stephan King is, "we go to have fun" (2). Fear in today's society is our entertainment, and we love to get our hearts pumping. Horror movies have become our new entertainment for example, the Romans loved to watch people getting fed to the lions. There is something inside us that loves to see other people in pain, to see blood coming out from their bodies. Even if you didn't like to watch the horrible scène, you can't look away because it's something you have to see.

To sum up the reasons, Stephan King is right about horror movies they had become our new addiction. Horror movies test us on our fears, desires and mentality. I love horror movies because they test all the three things I just wrote about, so are we all crazy and sick? How long can we keep our composure in today's society before we snap and decide to start going on a murdering rampage. Some of the worst serial killers could have become some of the brightest minds of today, so what made them snap? I guess we can hide our sick minds better than them, or we are just too scared to go through what they wanted to do. As for me, I'm the person who cannot go through it because I don't have the guts, but I do think about it a lot.