IELTS ; Convenience food eventually replace traditional foods? No

TOPIC:

Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

Convenience foods have been very popular among many people and some event think that it eventually replace traditional foods. However, in my view, food is a very important part of our lives and people will continue to prefer traditional foods.

The vast majority of men and women probably appreciate the easiness of its preparation. For example, working women and students who have hectic schedule and busy lifestyle often take a full advantage of food that requires little preparation. Some people believe that food has no other meaning than "fuel for our bodies" and therefore they have neither interest nor motivation to spend much time on food or its preparation. More likely they don't cook at all.

In addition, convenience foods is a natural choice for young men who live on its own and have no necessary skills or knowledge for preparing food for themselves.

However, for many families food and its preparation is more likely a family bonding activity. Celebration of special occasionse, weddings and family gatherins on traditional holidays, for example, is not fully complete if it doesn't include traditional foods and its preparation. Thanksgiving day, for example, is often associated with roasted turkey. Many people believe that having conveniece foods everyday is not very healthy, some even claim that food is laden with saturated fats, sodium, sugar and chemicals and many parents concern that it is not a safe choice for their kids, therefore parents prefer traditional methods of food preparation. Besides there are plenty of recepies that requires either little or no efforts. And learning to cook is not so difficult, there are many culinary books and step-by-step guides that explain in details the process of food preparation and help easily develop necessary basic skills in this particular area. Fried or boiled eggs, for example is a good start too.

Taste and quality of food also plays an important role for many of us. Many tourists believe that traditional foods creates unique travelling experience. For some of them, particular food is a criteria for choosing their travel destinations.

In my view, traditional foods has always been a very important part of human life and it is unlikely that it will eventually be substituted by convenience food.