It is a controversy that children should be taught in single gender schools or mixed schools - IELTS

Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate school. Others, however, believe that girls and boys benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In today diverse academic environment, it is controversy that children should be taught in single gender schools or mixed schools. Plenty of people claim that to educate children of different genders in separate schools helps them to reap more benefits than in the other. However, in my opinion, sending students to mixed schools would be better choice for various reasons.

To begin with, separate schools provide children with significant positive effects. One of foremost reasons is that children, especially teenagers, could concentrate on their study. This is the culmination of the absence of opposite gender children in their academic environment which hinders them from sexual attraction. Moreover, teachers in this type of schools could add more special curriculums appropriate with separate genders to horn students' personal skills. For example, female students could be offered needlework or cooking classes, whilst males could attend to particular physical education classes.

Nonetheless, studying in mixed schools may be preferred for various upsides. First of all, to study among people of both genders gives young people chances to communicate with opposite sex, so they could develop the juvenile relation between peers; as a result, they would be more confident to join in work environment when they grow up. Furthermore, children sent to mixed schools might be self- independent because they could acknowledge astounding talents and personal skills from the other gender. For instance, if a girl participates in technical class, which is usually considered for boys, she would be able to fix electronic device at home without helps from other men years later. Last but not least, it is economical for government to build schools where both male and female acquire knowledge together. Money should be spent to provide students with modern and convenient learning facilities and programs.

To sum up, in spite of some advantages that single gender schools bring to children, from my point of view, it is more justified to send children to mixed schools. Its environments would prepare for children well to face their social relationships in the future.