Complain about a bad product or service in writing or in person???

Please help...

When people need to complain about a product or poor service, some prefer to complain in writing and others prefer to complain in person.

Which way do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it is common for people to complain about bad products or services. Some people are in favor of complaining in writing, while others prefer face-to-face complaining. My opinion is that it is hard to say which method is better, because it very much depends on what situation complainer is in and that each method has its own pros and cons.

There are good reasons for someone to complain in writing. For example, by writing a letter to complain about a bad product or service, one does not need to waste valuable time on driving a long way from home to the product center, waiting for his turn and talking to the representatives. It also enables them to avoid unpleasant conversation. Moreover, this method is especially effective in the case that someone does not have a chance to have a face-to-face discussion. For instance, a man is on a business trip in a foreign country; his mobile phone cannot use roaming services; then writing a letter is an excellent way to complain and ask the Mobile operator in his country to enable that service for him.

There are, however, strong arguments in favor of complaining in person. First, this method allows people to have immediate feedbacks. If one has complains about a company's product, he/she will receive answer and explanations right away. He/she doesn't need to wait for the company's response which often takes several days or even a month by sending a company a letter. Secondly, by seeing each other's facial gesture, or body movements, it can tell more about a person. In the case that one cannot receive a creditable answer from one representative, he can always require to talk to another person.

In conclusion, my point of view is that both complaining in writing or in person has its own advantages and disadvantages. Choosing which method to complain is very much dependant on the situations in which one is and depends on how he/she wants to do it.