Competition improve students achievements - show research in Indonesia

Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operative rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, life is becoming more and more competitive. Some people argue that children have to be taught a sense of competition in that it leads them to be more ready facing their future and motivates them to increase their achievement in the school. However, others believe that cooperative learning is more essential than competition method since people are becoming more individualistic than before.

Several people might say that competition brings children to be more prepare for facing their future. For example, they will compete with other people for taking a job or attending university when they adult. As a result, children should be more familiar with the sense of competition.

In addition, competition in the school encourages children for improving their achievement. Result shows that by the implementation of curriculum based competition in Indonesia, there are improvement of students achievement. It thus clear that competition is important.

However, how to be cooperative with other people is the necessary of people as human being in this modern era. As such, it is not uncommon when people prefer to think themselves instead of the social needs, Statistics describe people are becoming more apathetic and individualistic in many countries especially in developed country. They are unlikely to think other people as a result of competition atmosphere that leads them just think about their selves. There is no doubt how to be good member in society and cooperative with other people is more essential to be taught for children.

The aforementioned evidence shows that even though competition encourages children to be more prepare for their future and improving their achievement, cooperative learning is more necessary for children. I personally believe that children have to be taught how to live in the society.