Comparison Three universities BU, USC and UB.

Currently, there are a vast number of universities in Australia. It is important for international students to compare universities because of their different expectations and conditions. The international students who want to study abroad and get involved in local community can make a right choice of the universities suitable for them. This research report examines three universities in Brisbane and Melbourne, namely Bond University (BU), the university of the Sunshine coast (USC) and university of Ballarat (UB). This report will compare their locations, the number of students and support services and recreation facilities.

There are several dissimilarities between each university in terms of their locations. One of the three universities, 115 kilometers far away from North East of Melbourne, UB, which is near town centre and recreation facilities, is based in Ballarat. Unlike UB, USC, which is near Semi-rural area, is on the Sunshine Coast and around 100 kilometers from the North of Brisbane. BU is the most convenient as it is in suburban residential area, which is on the Gold Coast, 80 kilometers - distance from the South of Brisbane. While BU is near recreation facilities, USC is near national parks. However, both of them are close to the beach.

Each university differs in respect to the number of students and support services. On the other hand, UB, with 47 percent, has a higher international student percentage than BU and USC; with constitute 41 and 9 percent respectively. Therefore, USC, one of the other two universities, is the lowest. According to the total of student numbers, UB is much larger than the other two universities; in particular, they are approximately 10,700 students while BU has the least amount of students, with a total of 6,650 students.

All three universities have good recreation facilities. They have over 20 sport and recreation clubs, a sport and aquatic centre. Especially, UB also has private gymnastics hall for students to workout. Whereas, BU has prevalent outside activities such as beach volleyball, both USC and UB organize an athletics track competition. In addition, in general, USC has more good facilities compare to the other two. For example, USC has four sport fields whereas both BU and UB have two and one respectively.

In conclusion, all three universities have distinct features. If the distance and number of overseas students are important, then BU is a good choice. However, because of its inconvenient location, UB is the least feasible option for many students. USC is perhaps the best choice as its peaceful area, essential recreation facilities and an excellent international student support program.