GRE: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses

Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students-like people in general-prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Nowadays, there is a controversial issue about the choice of courses in the universities and colleges. Some claim that students should be provided with a fix and predefined path as they prefer this approach, while others believe that this is would fetter students and would have unfavourable effects on their performance and interest.

Generally speaking, every person in the world should be given the ability to think of himself and decide based on his/her own thoughts and interests. Confining students with a inflexible study path could cause many problems including lack of interest and they may think that they are fettered by their college or university. In addition to that, science is developing very fast, and even a very specific field of study comprises of many different research and technical areas; therefore, nobody should be forced to study courses related to each of these areas, since in this case there could be many courses to study.

Although providing students with the right to choose between courses based on their interest may help improving their alacrity for learning, there are some disadvantages to that. The most important disadvantage is that some students - due to lack of experience and enough knowledge - may end up with a list of courses that are desperate and at the end he/she would have no clue in any of those technical areas that courses has been chosen from. Let's take software engineering as an example, in the university I had the chance to select between a variety of courses from computer graphics to programming language design; some of my friends chose both of the courses at the end the come up with almost nothing out of any of these courses since they are not related to each other and provide a very basic information on each subject.

To sum up, I believe that students should have the opportunity to select between different courses and subject based on their interests; however, universities and colleges must set some specific compulsory courses to make sure that no student would end up with learning varied unrelated subject.