Should children, when they'll grow up, do same kind of jobs like their parents? - I have some doubts

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It's true that a variety of people agree children should do similar jobs like their parents when they grow up, however, I doubt this agreement since I believe that children will gain more disadvantages from this career plan.

Firstly, some people believe children can achieve more relying on their parents' help, whereas I think independence is the most important thing when people grow up that everyone are supposed to know how to choose a school, make a career plan and so many things by their own when they are facing to the whole society. Children, however, are more likely to lose the chances to make their own decision about career because they do the same job like parents who may use their rich experience to arrange all things for their kids. Then children just do it step-by-step without thinking, and a few years later, they will not able to do some critical choices without others' help.

Additionally, I believe that all men created differently, which means no one could say children must have the same interest with their parents. For example, it's not surprise that scientists' children have no passion about experiment and calculation. Thus, it's necessary and important for children to find their own interest which might be totally different from their parents' so that they would have more career probability in the future.

Admittedly, children are able to solve problems easily and take a shortcut with their parents' experience and interpersonal relationship which indicates that they might have more chances to get a prompt and success while the children whose parents cannot provide such advice and guidance have to do extra effort.

All in all, I deem that children should make their own decision and achieve their own dream, instead of just following their parents' footprint.