The children must grasp their mother tongue before learning a foreign language

The majority of people have realized the importance to learn a foreign language. However, I really disagree when the children begin to learn a foreign language at primary school, due to the reason that they should grasp they mother tongue previously before learning the foreign language.

The children aged 3-12 year will be easier to learn a foreign language than the children aged over 13 years. At this age, their memory works well so as it will help them to learn the foreign language. In addition, the schoolchildren who start to learn a foreign language in secondary school will get plenty of difficulties as they are not accustomed to with this language, therefore they should know the foreign language in primary school. Moreover, the children will learn a wide range of lessons in secondary school than in primary school, so they can not focus to learn the foreign language in secondary school. However, I believe that the age is not the predominant factor which influences the student to learn a foreign language, interest to learn or learning motivation is the predominant factor which gives a pivotal influence to learn the foreign language.

Understanding the mother language is pivotal to be known by children. Therefore, in primary school, the children should focus to grasp their mother language. They cannot appreciate their mother language when they do not grasp this tongue. In addition according to the data from one of research published in Journal of Education in 2014 showed that the children who are overdue to learn the foreign language can grasp this language well, due to the reason that the pivotal factor which influences the children to learn a foreign language is the Interest to learn this language.

All in all, there is no doubt that the drawback of learning a foreign language in primary school outweighs the benefit which will be got by the children. Giving the understanding of the children regarding their mother language in early age is the best way to make them can appreciate their mother language.