Change one thing about education in VietNam

hello everyone, my writing is not good,so I need your help. It's an essay I've completed. It's very kind of you to revise it.Thank you so much.

If you could change one thing about education in Viet Nam, what would you change?

Education is the root of development of every country all over the world and VietNam is not an exception. It's one of the most important steps that takes a country to a better level. Stepping into the 21st century, Vietnamese educational system is still weak in quality,unbalanced in structure,not linked with practice. Furthermore,the training is not linked with employment. In this essay, I'd like to focus on the idea of changing method which I personally think is the best key to these weaknesses.

Numerous lecturers nowadays complain that their students are passive during lessons. Students,most of the time, mutely sit with dull eyes and insipid faces, which makes teachers find it difficult to discover how much students have understood what they have been taught. Students don't even raise hands to express their viewpoints until teachers ask questions. They are very pleased with being followers.

The reason for this problem,first of all,comes from the attitude of most of the students to the subjects. Students are just studying to pass their exams,and they lack any real love for their subjects. Another reason is fear. Our education has for hundreds of years applied a traditional teaching method in which students passively obey what their teachers have told them. They have no courage to ask for more information even when they have not understood something. This fact shows the fear of expressing their own viewpoints. In other words, they are afraid of the teachers would judge or criticize them if they are wrong.

The questions are why? And who should be put on blame for this problem. It's teachers whose traditonal teaching method;lesson is read aloud,and students write down their text. It's traditional teaching method which requires no more than learning by heart and limits practical skills. For example, a lot of students nowadays are still afraid of speaking in front of the public due to being timid,not confident. That is because in class applying traditional teaching method, they don't have to speak in front of other studens. Instead, they are "public" and it's the teacher who answers all the questions they ask and provides lots of information they need. Students need communication skill. It's traditional teaching method which focuses so much on academic theories but ignore applying them into practice. That's why some students are good at solving mathematical problems but fail in solving social problems. It's thinking skill that need improving. As I said above, in traditional teaching method, because all necessary information are provided, students may depend on their teachers instead of thinking creatively as well as doing independently. They need thinking skill.

Also, most examinations only require students to remember what they take notes in class. This encourages learners to learn by heart like parrots not students. And then leaving rooms, these "parrots" remember nothing.

It's time this situation changes.

The solution to these problems is new teaching methods which help developing practical skills and make students more active. First of all,there should be more classes in which teachers ask questions and students are expected to answer all the questions. This will force students think for themselves, which will reveal the weaknesses in the students's way of thinking,and lead them to stronger,better ideas. These classes will improve thinking skill and may be communication skill as well.

In addition to these classes, extracirrcular activities should be encouraged to help students more being active, building some esential skills such as teamwork, the ability of management, and social communication skill,etc. they should be given chances to join hands in community activities such as Earth Hours,as well as social campaign to assist the community,give charity to the poor...

Nowadays, new teaching methods have being applied in a lot of schools. Class is divided into three or four groups which do the tasks the teacher orders. The teacher only acts as a guide, helps solve problems if necessary. Another teaching method also effective is that classes use projecters and laptops. Multi-media facilities like TV,radio,internet are also used to make subjects more interesting. They find it easier to remember lessons through stories,pictures,videos...Also,in this teaching method,they don't have to waste time taking notes. Instead,they can copy the teacher's lesson notes from her laptop to their USBs.

In conclusion,"teaching" should be correctly understood. Teaching should mean instilling in students a thirst for knowledge and the methodology for them to discover things by themselves. If teachers believe that their role is to convey knowledge to students,they should choose the best teaching method which erase the ability in creative thinking, the practical skills as well as the knowledge in theory.