CBEST - 'Working abroad'; Making Important Decision

Describe a particular time in your life when you had difficulty making an important decision. Identify the situation and explain whether you were able to resolve the problem. If it was resolved, how? If not, why not-what happened?

Working abroad to help support your own family is a dream come true for people coming from a third-world country. Indeed, I was one of them who aspired to find a better job where there is greener pasture. There are advantages and disadvantages that must be considered before making a decision. The decision did not came easily as I had to weight it carefully. Working abroad includes adjustment in language and culture, yet, it will bring financial assistance and growth in my profession as a teacher.

On August 2006, I received an invitation to teach in the United States. However, the timing was too difficult since I just gave birth to my 1 year son. It was not just an overnight tete-a-tete with my husband whether I should accept the offer. We discussed and weighed the pro's and cons of me leaving them behind and living on my own in a place where everything will be new. We consulted friends and relatives who can give us advices what things to expect and not expect if I decide to work abroad. For example, my college friend from New York emailed me and informed me that language is one of the greatest barrier I might encounter as a teacher. English is my secondary language and I can speak fluently yet not so eloquently like any Americans. Somehow Americans have different manner of expressing their thoughts the way Filipinos do. Colloquial conversation is different like Americans practically say "How are you?" with strangers as courtesy. In my country, we greet others only intimate friends to start a long and friendly conversation.

Every country has their own unique culture and beliefs. Americans practically are westernized while Filipinos are conservative citizens. Thus, I was brought up to be family-oriented while Americans are taught to be independent. Moving in the United States, means living by myself in my apartment, preparing food and cleaning the house on my own. Labor was cheap back home, and affording a cleaning lady and a nanny was convenient for everyone. It is a cliche for Filipino families in the city to hire relatives who lives in the suburb as nanny. Since we value family so much, fringe benfits such as free education is provided to their children. It is the exact opposite for Americans, where they spend enormous money for daycare of their children.

Working abroad however, will provide financial assistance for my son's future. I will be able to bring him to the USA and provide him with better education. Michelle my friend, was separated from her family for 3 years. She texted me and said that after years of waiting, she was happy that her family's petition was finally approved. She now lives with her husband and daughter in San Diego. To add up, my experience in USA will increase my skill and knowledge as a teacher. I knew a lot of Asians, who taught back in their home country after gathering 5 years of teaching experience in USA. During a teacher conference in my country, a school director from Washington demonstrated the use of internet media inside the classroom. I was awed how modern American facilities can offer their students.

Finally, after 1 month of decision making, my husband and I agreed and decided to accept the job. We knew that it will be difficult at first but there are a lot of ways to make some adjustments. I took the risk and was willing to sacrifice with hopes that I can reunite with them in years time. In my thoughts and mind, I am willing to sacrifice a few years when the reward will be benefecial for my son's future. I have been teaching in California for 3 years, I was able to get along with the system and culture in this foreign country. Thanks a lot to the marvelous internet technology that hooked me up to my family constantly. I also met new friends (Asians and Americans) who accompanied me in times of loneliness. My friends and I just love cooking different food and bringing it to each other house.

The idea of working broad is an exciting prospect to many people. Yet, in making a decision thorough comparison of its advantages and disadvantages must be considered. In the end, I found happiness in choosing to accept my teaching job in this country. Yes, there were adjustment to be made in language and culture. However, a learning experience that brough financual assistance and growth in my career as a teacher.